Its bliss to be in the outside world……and then spill all the beans in the cyber world…..!!!!!
No I am not trying to be cheeky and have my beans all cooking on the burner but it just feels nice to be outside for a while. (The reason why I was not freshly pressing 😉 ). But it does me wonders just having the wind, rain, humidity, hot beaming sun, or the dry cold weather etc act up on my face. Its like how Sylvia Plath describes in ‘The Bell Jar’- “I felt my lungs inflate with the onrush of scenery—air, mountains, trees, people. I thought, this is what it is to be happy.”

out the doors

out the doors

When I step outside the doors of my house I see the tree leaves waving at someone…probably me :), there’s the neighbours dog looking warily at me, those people who I am wary of, or those that I admire. I spy those PWD people sweeping and removing the mounds of fallen leaves and carrying them away. The road in front has a slower traffic now. Just an hour back it was teeming with intent office goers and school children. This is what pulls at my heart-the ordinariness, the normalcy, the time to gaze at it all without any big hurry to attend to a hundred other things.

‘Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating, there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather’. –John Ruskin

And I agree and agree and agree with Mr Ruskin!!

DSC_0067 The weather’s been wet for the most part. Well its monsoon time so it’s expected, but with it comes the slush-slosh, mugginess, restricted outdoors…. ho hum.

But then, it’s a perfect time to pick up a book and a cuppa in hand to make the most of the indoor time. Presently I have Ms Rowling keeping me engaged with ‘A Casual Vacancy’ on the one hand and ‘The Hound of Baskervilles’ by Mr Doyle. The latter is a re-read actually. Had read it a long time back during my school days but the fun hasn’t abated even after so many years.

Actually, looking around the world, it seems rather a rich privilege to be able to experience this calmness and peace in your neighborhood, your home, your minds, and hearts. This is real happiness.In fact this is exactly what the renowned Russian novelist and writer Lev Tolstoy had to say about family and happiness-

‘A quiet secluded life in the country, with the possibility of being useful to people to whom it is easy to do good, and who are not accustomed to have it done to them; then work which one hopes may be of some use; then rest, nature, books, music, love for one’s neighbour — such is my idea of happiness.’

‘life in the country…’
‘Being useful to people…..’
‘rest’
‘nature’
‘books’
‘music’
‘love for one’s neighbour’

These are the taglines to a good and happy life one can live by.

Happiness is….

Leave a Reply

